ARDA Announces New Timeshare Association President

Disney Vacation Club Timeshare’s Jim Lewis to be the new Chairman of the American Resort Development Association Board of Directors.

The American Resort Development Association announced this week that Jim Lewis, president of Disney Vacation Club Timeshare, has been elected Chairman of ARDA. ARDA is the Washington, DC-based trade association that represents the timeshare and vacation ownership industries, and if you were reading recent postings on The Timeshare Authority, you know that ARDA just last week convened its annual convention and educational conference.

The Right Leader for ARDA Timeshare Association

Jim Lewis is CPA, and holds an MBA from Purdue University. A resident of Orlando, Florida, he is active in both civic and faith-based organizations. In 2007, the Orlando Business Journal named Lewis as one of the ten most influential businesspeople in Central Florida. He has served on the ARDA Board of Directors since 2004, as well as holding numerous committee and steering committee positions.

He sees his new appointment like this, “It is both an honor and a humbling responsibility to have been chosen by my peers to lead the Association at this unique time. I am confident that, together, we will work through the present economic obstacles and continue to provide the excellent family vacation experiences that millions of Americans want and deserve.”

Howard Nusbaum ARDA’s president and CEO says, “ARDA and the vacation ownership industry are fortunate to have Jim Lewis’ leadership during this particularly challenging time in our history. Jim’s passion for the product and in-depth knowledge of the industry puts ARDA in very capable hands at a time when the industry needs to work together. His personal integrity and commitment to industry excellence makes him the right leader at the right time.”

Chairman of the Board of Directors of the American Resort Development Association is a two year position. Jim Lewis replaces Jon Fredricks of Welk Resorts as chairman of the ARDA Board.